If it’s worth it, make time!

Do you chug about several cups of coffee a day just to stay awake?

Do you often find yourself using a tablet, phone, and computer at the same time?

Is your organizer your best friend?

Do you often miss out on friend and family events?

If you answered yes to any of these questions,  you are classified as a busy person.

Today’s post is for those “busy people”. The people who are constantly stressing. Those who are always on their phones, not to check out the latest funny video, but for research or replying to endless emails.

As a senior in college and an involved student I totally know the feeling. Majority of my days start before 8am and end well after 8pm. Before I  became a college student everyone told me, “you have so much more freedom”, what they meant was, “you have so much freedom, IF you don’t plan to do anything resume-worthy.” If I have learned anything these past few years, it’s that the key to successfully staying busy is making time to relax. Otherwise know as, time management.

It is super easy to say “prioritize”, we hear so often in our society. How do you choose which tasks take priority? That is totally up to you. If your main goal is to achieve a 4.0 gpa, then your main priority is probably to do homework first, study more, etc. If your goal is to boost your social life then maybe you want to go out more and work less. Whichever road you choose,  make sure that make time for yourself.

Personally, grades are not my number one priority. Sorry mom and dad. Don’t get me wrong I am doing well in school, I go to all of my classes, and I study most of the time. However, my biggest priority is making sure that I am professionally developed and groomed. I want to be a successful journalist, so in preparation for that I write, I work for the university radio station, I do photography around campus, I watch tons of videos, read large stacks of magazines, and I am always glued to my phone. To relax, I either go out with friends or sit in my apartment blaring loud music.

My point is, do not spend all of your time, which is very valuable, stressing out about things that do not or will not take priority in your life. Enjoy it for what it is.

Check out these articles that offer great advice on how to deal with time management:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/work-in-progress/2013/08/14/time-management-for-the-time-challenged/#655d53e349c4

http://www.cosmopolitan.com/lifestyle/a49813/why-i-have-no-time-is-sort-of-bs/

 

 

Leave a Reply

