Good Morning Darlings,

I have a joke for you this morning. What’s hot, cold, and ‘chic’ at the same time? Stomped? CHICAGO!!! Now that I have you laughing to tears, let’s get down to business.

If you haven’t seen already, I posted a few photos from the Surround Sound of Fashion Show that took place in Chicago last weekend (Saturday). I apologize for the quality of the photos but I didn’t grab my SLR and was stuck using my phone. However, let me start by saying, wow! To catch you up, I was a volunteer for the show. All in a day, I was an usher, a runner, and seating coordinator. I loved every minute of it. Yes, I was exhausted by the end of the day but I learned so much and the experience itself was totally worth the fatigue. I would love to help out next year and of course take on more responsibility as well. The Beauty Within, which is the show I did hair and make-up for on that Sunday, was very successful too. It was truly nice to see a variety of models who all had different strengths and to see how they reflected and shared their confidence with the audience.

I love to hear good news and support all artists. I would love to know what my readers are doing and attend any events that I can. So if you know of any upcoming shows, especially during the summer, please leave a comment below!

Now back to the nitty gritty.

In the previous blog I talked about faking your skills in order to pass minor interviews or be able to hold a decent conversation about fashion. But, I’m sure we all know that, “faking it” can only take you so far. What if that interview turns into a job, or that conversation turns into a date? How far will you need to go? How much will you need to learn? What if you don’t know who Yves Saint Laurent is? First, stop and breathe. This is a cheat sheet just for you.

True, fashion comes with a lot of ‘baggage’, for lack of a better word. It cannot be learned in one night. It is like a language, and the best way to understand it, is to immerse yourself in it.

To be a fashionista/ Fashionisto you must READ like one. Here’s a list of my favorite bloggers and magazines.

  • Cosmopolitan
  • Harper’s Bazaar
  • Vogue
  • Lucky
  • Hercules Universal
  • BryanBoy
  • Fashion
  • GQ

The Blonde Salad

(These are not the only choices these are just a few of  my favorite)

Fashion is FILM, Film is Fashion. A big part of Fashion is movies and television. Here are movies and shows to watch.

  • Any award show (Grammy’s, Emmy’s, Oscar’s, etc)
  • Gossip Girl ( will drive you mad but you will love every second of it)
  • 90210 (scandalous)
  • The Devil Wear’s Prada (funny, great ‘ideal’ of the fashion world, not fully accurate)
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s (Romantic and classic)
  • Coco Chanel (actually really good)
  • House of DVF (E!)
  • Under the Gunn
  • Project Runway
  • Empire
  • America’s Next Top Model

You must Think Fashion. Here are my fashion faves to watch.

  • Rihanna (of course)
  • JLo
  • Chris Brown
  • FKA Twigs
  • Adam Levine
  • Coco Chanel
  • Michael Kors
  • Givenchy
  • and of course the ever so fierce and fabulous, Michelle Obama

You have to do it, to prove it! Especially if fashion is something that you genuinely have an interest in, career or hobby.

  • Practice styling your friends, parents, make your significant other your own personal mannequin.
  • If you want to design, carry a pencil and a sketch book everywhere, inspiration strikes most unexpectedly.
  • Photographers, same, take your camera everywhere. (unless you don’t have security clearance to do so.)
  • Earn a job/internship at a retail store, modeling agency, make-up counter, or salon. It may not be what you want right now but it’ll definitely help you gain experience.
  • Have more than one skill. If you do photography, learn merchandising. If you sketch, learn to sew,etc.
  • Don’t give up. The fashion world is SUPER-competitive. As long as you want it more than the person next to you, you’ll get it!

    This photo is property of LaModaVivaFotography  Sharvelle Latrice Bullock subject: Aerial Dwyer Prop: Cosmopolitan Magazine
    This photo is property of LaModaVivaFotography
    Sharvelle Latrice Bullock
    subject: Aerial Dwyer
    Prop: Cosmopolitan Magazine
Leave a Reply

